This letter is submitted 25 June 2020 by the ICOM Spokesperson of the ICOM International Committees and has been created in collaboration with a group of current ICOM chairs in the ICOM International Committee Working Group in the period 21 to 25 June 2020.

TO THE PRESIDENT, EXECUTIVE BOARD, AND GENERAL DIRECTOR OF ICOM

The signatory Chairs of ICOM's International Committees, National Committees, Regional Alliances, Affiliated Organisations and Working Groups acknowledge with both sadness and concern the resignation of our President, Suay Aksoy. We wish to thank her for her relentless dedication and contribution to the work of our organization and trust that indeed her leadership "towards a progressive path which is not easily reversible" will carry forward to the next governance.

This is not a solitary event; in addition to the resignation of the President we have, over the last few weeks, become aware of several other instances of people resigning or leaving office; elected members of the ICOM Executive Board have resigned, appointed members have left the Museum Definition, Prospects & Potentials committees and the Legal Affairs Committee and one employee has left the ICOM Secretariat. We are very concerned about the underlying issues that may have led to these resignations and demand to know why they stepped down from their elected or appointed positions and how the ICOM Office will act in the period to come.

Upholding the shared values of democracy, transparency and respect for diversity of opinions, we ask, given the President's consent and provided that privacy is fully warranted, the following to be shared with us by 1st July 2020:

- the letter of resignation addressed to the Executive Board of ICOM on 19 June 2020 which the president refers to as including the motives for her decision,
- the minutes of all meetings of the Executive Board for the years 2019 and 2020,
- the minutes of the procedures behind the election of the new president and the disposition in the statutes that regulated the election.

Both the outgoing re-elected president and her appointed successor have referred to the shared values of democracy and transparency as fundamental core principles to guide our actions. It is in this spirit that we ask the Executive Board and the Director General to come before us and offer us any information that could possibly lead us to better understand the situation that prompted this resignation. It seems that to ignore these events is to fail in our responsibility to further the democracy and transparency we proclaim.

At such critical times, when our efforts are being multiplied in order to serve our respective bodies, sharing all possible tools and the most updated information, during these challenging times when we look to work ever more closely together, it would be

This letter is submitted 25 June 2020 by the ICOM Spokesperson of the ICOM International Committees and has been created in collaboration with a group of current ICOM chairs in the ICOM International Committee Working Group in the period 21 to 25 June 2020.

helpful for us to have access to all views and to collaborate in finding the threads that unite us so we can move forward together, respectfully, in understanding.

We, as elected chairs, request your responses and remain committed on behalf of our constituencies to work closely with the ICOM Secretariat, ICOM National, International and Standing Committees, Working Groups, Regional Alliances, Affiliated and all other organizations, together, to further the goals of ICOM.

25 June 2020

Signatories:*

Additional signatories as per 28 June 2020 (any additional signatories after 28 June will be reflected on the next updated list).

International Committees (ICs)

- 1. Michael H. Faber, Chair, ICOM AVICOM
- 2. Joana Sousa Monteiro, Chair, ICOM CAMOC
- 3. Kristiane Strætkvern, Chair, ICOM CC
- 4. Frank P. Bär, Chair, ICOM CIMCIM
- 5. Ech cherki Dahmali, Chair, ICOM CIMUSET
- 6. Tine Bagh, Chair, ICOM CIPEG
- 7. Danielle Kuijten, Chair, ICOM COMCOL
- 8. Diana R. Pardue, Chair, ICOM DRMC
- 9. Kathrin Pabst, Chair, ICOM IC Ethics
- 10. Teresa Medici, Chair, ICOM GLASS
- 11. Antonio Rodríguez, Chair, ICOM ICEE
- 12. Nana Meparishvili, Chair, ICOM ICAMT
- 13. Kai Lobjakas, Chair, ICOM ICDAD
- 14. Christoph Lind, Chair, ICOM ICFA
- 15. Ralf Ceplak, Chair, ICOM ICME
- 16. Ophelia Leon, Chair, ICOM IC MEMO
- 17. Anette Hansen, Chair, ICOM ICMS
- 18. Bruno Brulon Soares, Chair, ICOM ICOFOM
- 19. Matthias Henkel, Chair, ICOM MPR
- 20. Dorit Wolenitz, Chair, ICOM NATHIST
- 21. Paul van Brakel, Chair, ICOM ICOMAM
- 22. Goranka Horjan, Chair, ICOM INTERCOM
- 23. Marta C. Lourenço, Chair, ICOM UMAC

National Committees (NCs)

- 24. Silvia Mancini, Vice-Chair, ICOM Argentina
- 25. Mathew Trinca, Chair, ICOM Australia
- 26. Ruth Linton, Chair, ICOM Barbados

This letter is submitted 25 June 2020 by the ICOM Spokesperson of the ICOM International Committees and has been created in collaboration with a group of current ICOM chairs in the ICOM International Committee Working Group in the period 21 to 25 June 2020.

- 27. Teresa Villegas de Aneiva, Chair, ICOM Bolivia
- 28. Renata Vieira da Motta, Chair, ICOM Brazil
- 29. Leonardo Mellado González, Chair, ICOM Chile
- 30. William Alejandro Gamboa Sierra, Chair, ICOM Colombia
- 31. Eunice Baez Sánchez, Chair, ICOM Costa Rica
- 32. Moraima Clavijo Colon, Chair, ICOM Cuba
- 33. Søren la Cour Jensen, Chair, ICOM Denmark
- 34. Luisa De Peña Díaz, Chair, ICOM Dominican Republic
- 35. Juan Carlos Fernández-Catalán, Chair, ICOM Ecuador
- 36. Melissa Campos, Chair, ICOM El Salvador
- 37. Beatriz Quevedo, Chair, ICOM Guatemala
- 38. Rachelle C. Doucet, Chair, ICOM Haiti
- 39. Nava Kessler, Chair, ICOM Israel
- 40. Inkyung Chang, Chair, ICOM Korea
- 41. Louisa Onuoha, Chair, ICOM Nigeria
- 42. Edgar Ernesto González, Chair, ICOM Venezuela
- 43. Kaja Širok, Chair, ICOM Slovenia
- 44. Medea Ekner, Chair, ICOM Sweden

Regional Alliances (RAs)

- 45. Beatriz Espinoza Neupert, Chair, Regional Alliance of Latin American and Caribbean Countries, ICOM LAC
- 46. Søren la Cour Jensen, Interim Chair, Regional Alliance Nord, ICOM Nord

Working Groups

47. Morien Rees, Chair, ICOM Working Group on Sustainability

Affiliated Organizations (AOs)

- 48. Rachel Erickson, President of the Board, Commonwealth Association of Museums (CAM)
- 49. Linda Norris, Global Networks Program Director, on behalf of the International Coalition of Sites of Conscience (ICSC)

^{*}Documentation of the receipt of authorization from the signatories is kept by the ICOM IC Spokesperson.